Print page

The Bayerisches Geoinstitut

The M.Sc. program ‘Experimental Geosciences’ is centered on the expertise of the Bayerisches Geoinstitut (BGI). BGI is a central research facility at the University of Bayreuth and one of the leading institutes in research and training in experimental geochemistry and geophysics worldwide. The institute is also involved in materials science research and has good contacts to industry.

Many key questions of modern Earth science can only be addressed by experimental methods. BGI has a wide range of excellent laboratory facilities, operated by some of the most capable scientists in the field:

  • Analytical facilities to characterize samples: X-ray diffraction, spectroscopic methods (optical, IR, Raman, Mössbauer), electron microscopy, electron microprobe and laser ablation mass spectrometry.
  • Synthesis facilities at high pressure and temperature: high temperature gas-mixing furnaces, hydrothermal laboratories, piston cylinder presses, autoclaves, multi-anvil presses and diamond-anvil cells.
  • Facilities for in-situ measurements of physical properties: compressibility, electrical and thermal conductivity, magnetic and optical properties and ultrasonic interferometry.
  • Computational facilities for ab-initio modeling of material properties.

In the M.Sc. program students will be trained in many of these techniques. They will build up a solid expertise in Earth and materials science that will allow them to pursue careers in both academics and industry.

A complete list of facilities, scientists and current research at BGI can be found at www.bgi.uni-bayreuth.de.

Print page

Das Bayerische Geoinstitut

Der Masterstudiengang ‘Experimentelle Geowissenschaften’ basiert auf dem Fachwissen des Bayerischen Geoinstituts (BGI). Das BGI ist eine Zentrale Forschungseinrichtung der Universität Bayreuth und weltweit eines der führenden Institute in Forschung und Ausbildung auf dem Gebiet der experimentellen Geochemie und Geophysik. Materialwissenschaften ist ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt, und das Institut verfügt über intensive Kontakte zur Industrie.

Viele zentrale Fragen der modernen Geowissenschaften können nur durch experimentelle Methoden angegangen werden. Das BGI hat eine breites Angebot an hervorragenden Laboreinrichtungen, die von einigen der fähigsten Wissenschaftler/innen auf diesem Gebiet betrieben werden:

  • Analytische Einrichtungen zur Proben Charakterisierung: Röntgenbeugung, spektroskopischen Methoden (optisch, IR-, Raman-, Mössbauer), Elektronenmikroskopie, Mikrosonde und Laser-Ablation-Massenspektrometrie.
  • Hochdruck- und Temperatur Synthese Einrichtungen: Hochtemperatur Gas-Misch-Öfen, hydrothermale Labors, Pressen mit einzeln steuerbaren Stempeln, Autoklaven, Multianvil Pressen und Diamantstempelzellen.
  • Einrichtungen zur in-situ Messung von physikalischen Eigenschaften: Kompressibilität, elektrische und thermische Leitfähigkeit, magnetische und optische Eigenschaften und Ultraschall-Interferometrie.
  • Hochleistungs Computer Cluster für ab-initio Modellierung von Materialeigenschaften.

Studenten werden in dem Studiengang in vielen dieser Techniken ausgebildet. Es wird ein solides Fachwissen in Erd- und Materialwissenschaften vermittelt, das sowohl eine Karriere als Wissenschaftler oder in der Industrie ermöglicht.

Eine vollständige Liste der Einrichtungen, Wissenschaftler und aktuelle Forschung am BGI finden Sie unter www.bgi.uni-bayreuth.de.